Nine States Join Lawsuit Against EPA; Colorado Not One of Them

EPA-300Nine states have joined Murray Energy Company’s lawsuit against the Environmental Protection Agency over new carbon pollution rules.  Murray Energy has called the standards “illegal, irrational, and radical”.  Several states agree, and have joined Murray’s lawsuit to block the rules.  Colorado is NOT one of those states.  West Virginia, Alabama, Alaska, Kentucky, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, and Wyoming have filed briefs to the U.S. District Court of Appeals.  The states argue that the Clean Air Act, under which the EPA is proposing the carbon pollution standards, does not allow the EPA to regulate “any air pollutant emitted from a source category that EPA already regulates under” a different section of the law.  The decision to join the lawsuit would be Governor John Hickenlooper’s, however Hickenlooper has been a proponent of the new rules.  That means Colorado is not likely to join the suit, even though the rules are considered devastating for its coal producing counties.

Comments are closed.